so much to say

The time!  Oh, it flies.  Michael and I have just about settled into our new place.  Work and school have wound back to their frenetic paces, but we love living in Decatur, and the pockets of time we have for one another are cozy and comfortable.  We got our wedding photos a couple of weeks ago, and I have to admit we’ve been selfish with them.  Soon, though, we’ll post some here for you.  I promise!

Speaking of weddings, a good friend of ours recently announced her engagement!  We’re extremely happy for Maggie and Cagri.  This evening I’ll be attending a little champagne and hors d’oeuvres get together in Maggie’s honor.  My contribution?  Rosalynn Carter’s Plains Cheese Ring.  I’ve never actually made it before today, but if it’s good enough for a First Lady, right?  Actually, another good friend and excellent hostess, Kelly, first introduced me to Mrs. Carter’s cheese ring.  I usually just buy something prepared to take to things like this, but I plucked up my courage and decided to make this fairly famous southern fare.  It screams GEORGIA SPECIAL OCCASION, it makes me think of friends I love, and it’s incredibly delicious.  In short, it’s perfect.

And I think I’ve actually managed to pull it off!  It looks pretty, anyway.

Rosalynn Carter's Cheese Ring

Here’s the recipe I used:

Rosalynn Carter’s Plains Cheese Ring

1 lb. sharp cheddar cheese
1 small white onion
1 cup mayonaise (I used Duke’s)
1 cup pecans
black pepper
strawberry preserves (I used Smucker’s)
Ritz Crackers

Buy the cheese in a block.  You will be tempted to get shredded cheese, but it’s important to grate the cheese yourself.  Grate the cheese and think about how horrible it is to grate cheese.  Think, too, about how awesome you are and how much more lovely your cheese ring will taste.  Grate the onion until it approaches your interpretation of “finely grated”…whatever that means.  If you’ve only ever chopped onions before, prepare yourself for onion tears the likes of which you have never experienced.  Mix in the mayo and pepper, then press your mixture of deliciousness into a mold.  If you happen to have a vintage Tupperware gelatin mold, use that.  Feel appropriately smug/smart/accomplished/fortunate.  Chill it in the fridge.  Once you’ve unmolded the ring, allow pride/humility to wash over you.  Fill the center of the ring with strawberry preserves.  Serve with Ritz Crackers.

Until next time!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “so much to say

  1. Amber Rule says:

    This cheese ring is a hit at every party I take it too. Try red pepper jelly instead of strawberry. It is addicting!!!

Leave a comment