Gramma’s Potato Salad

Today I found myself missing my grandmother something awful.  She’s been gone for six Thanksgivings already, but it still seems as though I should be seeing her next week.  I’m glad we’ll be able to spend the day with the rest of my side of the family, but while I’m thankful, I’m missing Gramma in advance.

65_508928132179_4203_n
Gramma holding me in front of her house, 1983

Since I can’t stop thinking about her, and we all know how comforting food can be, I decided to try my hand at making her potato salad.  I usually don’t even like potato salad, but I could eat this every day. It’s got apples in it!   I’ve written here before about Gramma’s food, how nothing seems to taste right now that her hands aren’t in the kitchen mix.  Really and truly, though, I think I’ve got it pretty close.  And without a recipe!  Maybe it’s just that potato salad isn’t really all that difficult, but I’m pretty pleased and proud.  (I did call my mom from the grocery store to check the basics.)

Gramma’s Potato Salad

3 large Idaho potatoes
1 red delicious apple
1/2 sweet onion (more or less to taste)
4 large eggs
1 large dill pickle spear (more or less to taste)
1 cup mayonnaise (or enough for a good consistency – less if you don’t like mayo much)
salt and pepper to taste
paprika to taste (and sprinkled over top)

photo-54
Maybe not the most beautiful picture…but delicious, trust me.

Peel and cut potatoes into cubes.  Place them into cold water with a dash of salt, then bring the water to a boil.  Remove from heat and drain once they’re cooked through.  While they cool, put on four eggs to boil.  Cut apple into half-inch or so cubes, and dice onion to your preferred texture.  You’ll also want to dice the dill pickle spear into a relish-like consistency.  (But don’t use relish!  It’s too juicy.)  Once the eggs are finished, peel and chop those as well–about the same size as the apple.  Combine all these ingredients in a large bowl.  Add mayonnaise, salt, and pepper as you mix.  Sprinkle paprika over the top, and chill.  Serves 4-5.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

