What’s in a name?

So I’ve finally begun the process of legally changing my name…18 months after our wedding?  It’s not so much that I was holding on to my previous last name.  Rather, the incredibly involved process of legally changing last names seemed overwhelming.  I’ve really only gone to the Social Security office and the DMV so far, if you want to know the truth.  I still have to ask our banks, my university, etc., to update my documents to reflect the legal change.

I suppose I’ll need a new passport, too.  It goes on and on.

Aside from the paperwork and queues, my last name isn’t usually the problem.  It’s Bellee, the name you know, the name I answer to.  First of all, it’s my middle name.  Documents usually don’t show it, or only show my initial.  Maybe more frustrating, though, is how few people pronounce it correctly.  Even my family only gets it right about half the time.  My mom and dad are the only two, apart from me, who can really be trusted to say it correctly absolutely every time.

In case you’ve ever wondered, I’ll tell you how to say it.  The first e is short, almost-but-not-quite a schwa, and the accent falls on the second syllable.  The best approximation is  to say believe, but leave out the v.

Leave a Reply

