into the dark (day 3)


This is my view while I rock and nurse Henry to sleep. I have never loved to sleep in total darkness, and as it turns out, having a baby is a good excuse to have some light. But not too much. I also have sensitive eyes. Pecking this out on my phone is making me squint.

Today I have been bitching about falling back, about standard time and all the darkness that comes with it. The messed up sleep schedule. The dreary days. About an hour ago we settled down for a nap that has turned, it seems, into bedtime for everyone but me. I’m thankful for the warmth that comes from my baby’s little body in my lap, from my husband sleeping beside us. They both laugh in their sleep. I can stand the darkness, hearing that.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

